make available to the public a comprehensive collection of historical source material relating to the history of Canada. Major emphasis is placed on official records of the Government and the personal papers of political leaders and other prominent figures. These are supplemented by copies of many records in the British and French archives that relate to Canada, a fine map collection, a historical library, and many prints, paintings and photographs. In 1956 the Archives opened a large Records Centre, designed to provide economical accommodation for departmental records that are used relatively seldom. The building, equipped with over 50 miles of shelving, also serves as a sorting centre in which papers of long-term interest are picked out of obsolete files, and useless material is segregated for destruction.

Under the terms of the Laurier House Act (RSC 1952, c. 163) the Public Archives is responsible for the administration of Laurier House as a museum and study centre. The Dominion Archivist also administers the Government's Central Microfilm Unit, which is housed in the Records Centre.

Department of Public Printing and Stationery.—This Department, established in 1886, is responsible for supplying all requirements of printing and stationery to Parliament and departments of the Canadian Government; the cataloguing, distribution and sale of government publications; the publication of the Canada Gazette and all departmental reports, papers, etc., required to be published by authority of the Governor General in Council (RSC 1952, c. 226); and the publication of the Statutes of Canada (RSC 1952, c. 230).

The Department of Public Printing and Stationery is under the jurisdiction of the Secretary of State. The Deputy Head is the Queen's Printer and Controller of Stationery.

Department of Public Works.—The Department was constituted in 1867 and operates under the legislative authority of the Public Works Act and other Acts of Parliament. It is responsible for the management and direction of the public works of Canada and, except as specifically provided in other Acts, attends to the construction and maintenance of public buildings, wharves, piers, roads and bridges and the undertaking of dredging and navigable waters protection work. Federal Government interest in the Trans-Canada Highway is also handled by the Department. The Department maintains district offices at key points across the country. The Branches and Divisions of the Department are: Harbours and Rivers Engineering, Building Construction, Development Engineering, Property and Building Management, Purchasing and Stores, Administrative Services, Economic Studies, Financial Services, Fire Prevention, Information Services, Legal Services and Personnel.

The Minister of Public Works is also responsible to Parliament for the National Capital Commission.

Royal Canadian Mounted Police.—The Royal Canadian Mounted Police, a civil force maintained by the Federal Government, was organized in 1873 as the North West Mounted Police. It now operates under the Royal Canadian Mounted Police Act, 1959 and is responsible for enforcing federal laws throughout Canada. By agreement with certain provincial governments, it is also responsible for enforcing provincial laws within those provinces and for policing many district municipalities, cities and towns. The Force is controlled and administered by the Minister of Justice.

Department of the Secretary of State.—The Secretary of State and Registrar General of Canada is the official medium of communication with the Throne through the Governor General, and is the custodian of the Great Seal of Canada and of the Privy Seal of the Governor General. He is responsible for the preparation and tabling of returns in Parliament. He administers legislation relating to patents of invention, trade marks, industrial designs, timber marking, copyright, companies, boards of trade, the registration of trade unions, public officers, public documents and governmental and parliamentary translations. He is also the Custodian of Enemy Property.

The Secretary of State has certain responsibilities with respect to civilian decorations, precedence and ceremonial. The Committee on the use of Parliament Hill and the National War Memorial falls within his purview. He is the Minister of the Department of Public Printing and Stationery and the spokesman in Cabinet and Parliament for the Civil Service Commission, the Chief Electoral Officer, the Canadian Broadcasting Corporation, the Board of Broadcast Governors, the Atlantic Development Board, the National Film Board, the National Gallery, the National Library and the Public Archives.

Tariff Board.—Constituted in 1931 under the Tariff Board Act (SC 1931, c. 55), the Board derives its duties and powers from three statutes: the Tariff Board Act (RSC 1952, c. 261, as amended); the Customs Act (RSC 1952, c. 58, as amended); and the Excise Tax Act (RSC 1952, c. 100, as amended).

Under the Tariff Board Act, the Board makes inquiry into and reports upon any matter in relation to goods that, if brought into Canada, are subject to or exempt from duties of customs or excise taxes. Reports of the Board are tabled in Parliament by the Minister of Finance. It is also the duty of the Board to hold an inquiry under Sect. 14 of the Customs Tariff and to inquire into any other matter in relation to the trade and commerce of Canada that the Governor in Council sees fit to refer to the Board for inquiry and report.